Sweet Shoppe Designs

Old 06-20-2014, 07:26 PM
Sweet Talker

profile gallery send pm
Default How do you feel about going gray?

A little backstory: I have been coloring my hair fairly regularly since I was 18. It has been every six weeks since my early 30s due to my hair turning white. Not gray, really. White.

So at what age will you allow your air to show natural gray? I turn 43 this year. White hair runs in my family. I had a cousin who was white haired at her wedding. She was 25.

I last colored my hair in late April. I've got roots that are showing about an inch. I'm a teacher and don't have anything professional until the end of July. I'm strongly considering letting it go until I have to go back to school in order to give my hair a break from the constant coloring. I'm even considering not coloring it ever and just cutting it super short before school (it's been super short in the past and has taken me two years to grow it out chin length). Think Carol on The Walking Dead. Except I'm a lot fluffier.

Am I too young to let my hair go gray/white? Should I continue to color? (I do it myself using a permanent box color.) I just can't decide. And mostly... I hate hair. I'd be happy being bald because I hate my thick hair that I constantly have to color.

It doesn't help that my husband has been completely gray for five years. He gets really cranky when I color because he won't (thinks it's stupid for a guy to color) so why should I do it? However, when I bounced this off him, he thought I'd be happier not going white.

Now I've rambled... any thoughts on this subject?
Old 06-20-2014, 07:37 PM
Administrator

profile gallery send pm

I'm pro-gray! I've always said that I'm going to let it come as it will. I'm not a big hair color person anyway.

That being said, my mom is 57 and is just now showing real gray so it'll come a lot later for me.

Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk
Old 06-20-2014, 07:37 PM
you're like stars

profile gallery send pm